This website uses own and third party cookies, and similar technologies, to enhance your visit by adapting browsing to your preferences. By continuing to browse our site, you accept our cookie policy Opens in new window
You are in |

The Spanish Protectorate in Morocco: the transcended history

This work, sponsored by IBERDROLA to mark the centenary of the installation of the Spanish Protectorate in Morocco, sets out to analyse and explain this important period between 1912 and 1956. Its 1,500 pages explore the period from a political, military, legal, social and cultural perspective.

This reference work was presented in the Casa Árabe centre by the Chairman of IBERDROLA, José Ignacio Galán, and serves as a key to understanding the relationship between both countries and the links and common interests that bind them together. The project was headed by Manuel Aragón Reyes, Professor of Constitutional Law at the Autónoma University in Madrid, and has tapped the experience, erudition and efforts of 60 renowned authors including Eduardo Torres-Dulce (Director of Public Prosecutions), José Manuel García-Margallo, and Saad Dine El Otmani (Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation of Spain and Morocco).

With this publication, IBERDROLA further reinforces its commitment to education, by offering an informative work that explores in a detailed and yet readable way the influence each country had on the other.

As part of the company’s commitment to furthering cultural transfer, education and history IBERDROLA presents book in lower house of Spanish Parliament, titled Protectorado español en Marruecos. Repertorio biográfico y emocional, work follows a previous volume published by the company in 2013, El Protectorado español en Marruecos: la historia trascendida.

You can now consult this essential work in its entirety on the website

(*) Spanish version.


From left to right: the Chairman of the Friends of Morocco Club, Pedro Bofill, Member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Former MPs and Former Senators, Manuel Nuñez; The President of the Congress of Deputies, Patxi López; the Secretary of the Board of Directors of IBERDROLA, Julián Martínez-Simancas and the Secretary-General of the Association of Former MPs and Former Senators, Fernando Sanz. and

From left to right: Eduardo Torres-Dulce, José Manuel García-Margallo, Ignacio Galán and Manuel Aragón.

An instant from the presentation ceremony in the Casa Árabe centre in Madrid.

Picture 3 of 3

Go to

  • © 2016 Iberdrola, S.A. All rights reserved.